Jennifer Harman Among the 10 Nominees for the 2014 Poker Hall of Fame

jennifer harman wsop2014The list of the 10 nominees for the 2014 Poker Hall of Fame has been announced by the World Series of Poker, and as expected Jennifer Harman is among the finalists. Harman was also in play for the 2012 and 2013 PHoF, but failed to make the cut.

Besides Harman the finalist are: Humberto Brenes, Mike Matusow, Huck Seed, Chris Bjorin, Bob Hooks, Bruno Fitoussi, Ted Forrest, Jack McClelland and Daniel Negraneau. This is the first year Negraneau has been eligible for induction as he turned 40 this summer. 1-2 finalists make it into the PHoF every year, and as Negraneau can be hard to pass by, let’s hope the panel decides on two new members this year.

To be inducted into the PHoF a player must meet the following criteria:

  • Be a minimum of 40 years old at time of nomination.
  • Have played poker against acknowledged top competition.
  • Played consistently well, gaining the respect of peers.
  • Played for high stakes.
  • Stood the test of time.
  • Or, for non-players, contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results.

Looking at the criteria there’s no doubt that Harman meets them all. The 49-year old Harman has played in the biggest cash games for decades and she was the first woman to win two WSOP-bracelets in open events. In 2000 she won the $5,000 NL Deuce to Seven Event and two years later the $5,000 Limit Hold’em Event.

She was part of “The Corporation” that took on Andy Beal in 2006 for stakes up to $100,000-200,000, and she’s been a regular in Bobby’s Room at Bellagio for decades playing and beating strong competition in the biggest cash games.

Harman is also the author of the limit hold’em chapter in “Super System II” and she has appeared on the TV poker shows “High Stakes Poker”, “Poker After Dark”, “Million Dollar Cash Game” and the upcoming “Shark Cage”.

Harman has beyond any doubt been a pioneer and huge inspiration for female poker players all around the world. She has proven that a woman can be highly successful in a male dominated game and she precedes players like Melissa Burr, Vanessa Selbst, Maria Ho, Liv Boeree, Victoria Coren, Annette Obrestad, Kitty Kuo and Vanessa Rousso.

Only two women have been inducted into the PHoF, Barbara Enright in 2007 and Linda Johnson in 2011. It’s certainly time to let another woman into the prestigious club, and who could be a more worthy candidate than Jennifer Harman? A panel that consists of the 21 living PHoF-members and selected members of the poker media will announce the names of the new inductees in October.

Jennifer Harman was inducted into the Women in Poker Hall of Fame in 2010.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *